[HTML] [PDF]
Director’s Welcome
          [HTML] [PDF]

RCSI Ethics Challenge
RCSIsmj Ethics Challenge 2016/2017
          [HTML] [PDF]

RCSIsmj Ethics Challenge winner 2015/16
          [HTML] [PDF]

Case Reports
A rare case of post-gastric bypass hypoglycaemia
          [HTML] [PDF]
Kicking up a cytokine storm: an unusual presentation of Castleman’s disease
          [HTML] [PDF]
Toxic shock syndrome complicated by necrotising fasciitis: back to basics
A missed coarctation
          [HTML] [PDF]

Original Articles
Exploring the views of healthcare professionals on increasing smoking cessation advice for patients
          [HTML] [PDF]
An investigation of responsiveness to PI3K inhibition in breast cancer cells expressing high levels of androgen receptor
          [HTML] [PDF]

Review Articles
Epidemiological evaluation of rotavirus burden and potential impact of vaccination in Uganda
          [HTML] [PDF]
The history, mystery, and management of fibromyalgia
          [HTML] [PDF]
The road to the gold standard: whole genome sequencing in the clinic
          [HTML] [PDF]

Staff Reviews
Continuous glucose monitoring: a sweet deal for paediatric type 1 diabetes
          [HTML] [PDF]
I eat, therefore I am: the gut-brain axis and appetite control
          [HTML] [PDF]
The artificial womb: bridging the gap between embryo culture and the incubator
          [HTML] [PDF]
Antibiotics in the 21st century: a fight against a familiar foe
          [HTML] [PDF]
Watch this space: bringing medicine beyond Earth’s boundaries
          [HTML] [PDF]

Sharing and caring? Open access vs closed doors
          [HTML] [PDF]
Empathy is the new black
          [HTML] [PDF]
A global responsibility
          [HTML] [PDF]
The future of surgery or a robotic waste of money?
          [HTML] [PDF]
A future of anaesthesia?
          [HTML] [PDF]
The blunt truth: can marijuana fund better healthcare?
          [HTML] [PDF]

Senior staff writer Daniel O’Reilly interviews Dr.Michael Webb, Medical Director of Ulster Rugby
          [HTML] [PDF]

Travel briefs
Nepal: a country shaken
          [HTML] [PDF]
Fostering hope
          [HTML] [PDF]
The mass approach
          [HTML] [PDF]

Book reviews
Do No Harm: Stories of Life, Death and Brain Surgery by Henry Marsh and When the Air Hits Your Brain: Tales from Neurosurgery by Frank Vertosick Jr.
          [HTML] [PDF]

Oestrogen receptor gene mutations in endocrine-resistant breast cancer
          [HTML] [PDF]

2014-2015 Staff

Executive Committee
Director: Natalie Achamallah
Editor-in-Chief: Mohit Butaney
Senior Editor: Jenna Geers

Peer review Director: Ian Elliot
Assistant Peer Review Director: Corey Nixon

Staff writers
Senior Staff Writer: Daniel O’Reilly

Samar Attieh
Vincent Healy
Naomi O’Sullivan
Stephanie Tung

Peer Review Team
Anu Ananth
Lindsay Cheskes
Carling Cheung
Alice Fox
Elise Halpern
Alex Kasman
David Maj
Maria Mikail
Andrew Mikhail
Simraaj Powar
Sarah Pradhan
Fiona Rawat
Lorna Sampson
Dexter Seow
Renuka Sitram
Sunny Vig
Zac Wikerd
Matt Wong

Executive Secretary
Simran Ohson

Education Director
Stephen Tsoukas

Education Officers
Ruth Carey
Katie Dunleavy

Public Relations
Tessa Weinberg
Monika Cieslak
Hayley Spurr

Gemma Wright Ballester

Thank you to RCSI Alumni for their continued support to us as students – providing career advice, acting as mentors, enabling electives and research, and supporting the publication of the RCSIsmj since its inception in 2008.

We, as today’s generation of students and tomorrow’s generation of alumni, are very grateful for this ongoing support.

A special thanks to Professor David Smith for the time and encouragement he has given to the RCSIsmj Ethics Challenge.

We would also like to thank the Dean, Professor Hannah McGee, for her sponsorship, and Margaret McCarthy in the Dean’s Office for her constant endorsement and assistance.

The RCSIsmj was extremely privileged to have a number of professors and clinicians involved in this year’s journal club. We would like to thank the following for their support of, and participation in the journal club, and to express our appreciation of the time, knowledge and expertise
they shared with us:

Doctor Mark Murphy
Doctor Afif El-Khuffash
Professor Kieran Murphy
Professor Seamus Sreenan
Professor Noel G. McElvaney
Professor Arnold Hill
Professor Fergal Malone